Stadtschreiber

Various

NBR Instagram

Stadtschreiber – Berlin in Pictures: photographers share their personal view of Berlin on Neue Berliner Räume's Instagram channel.

A writer in residence (Stadtschreiber) is a narrator of cities, someone who comments on the present and records it for posterity. Neue Berliner Räume now takes up this idea and presents its new long-term project Stadtschreiber on Instagram. For three month each, changing photographers will share their personal view of Berlin, its places, stories and people. Follow the Stadtschreiber here.

 

Stadtschreiber No 2
Matias Sauter
July until October 2019

What would you take with you, if you were to leave Berlin? For his time as Stadtschreiber, Matias collects images of people and moments that remind him of what living here has come to mean to him.

 

Matias Sauter Morera was born in 1986 in San José, Costa Rica. After finishing his studies in Photography and teaching at the Veritas University in San José in 2010, he assisted in a landscape photography project of the Musée du quai Branly in Argentina. His photographs have been shown in various galleries and festivals, especially in Latin America, like the Despacio Gallery, the GuatePhoto Festival in Guatemala and at the Veinti4/Siete Gallery in San José 2018. In Berlin, he has been working in commercial and editorial photography. Specialized in documentary, portraiture, and fashion, he has been commissioned by renowned brands and published in international magazines like Condé Nast Traveller, Vogue, Cosmopolitan, and Stern. As a consequence of his lifestyle of constant moving and traveling, his work focuses on the exploration of different notions of identity and uses photography as a way to confront and create new realities. He currently divides his time between Berlin and Costa Rica, where he has been engaged in the photographic re-exploration of his childhood’s natural context – the tropical nature.

 

Stadtschreiber No 1
Miguel Brusch
April until July 2019

From Marienfelde to Lübars, from Zehlendorf to Marzahn – Miguel Brusch takes photos in the outskirts of Berlin for Stadtschreiber.

 

Miguel Brusch was born in 1983. After graduating in South Asian Studies and Media Science at the University of Hamburg, he started studying photography at the Ostkreuzschule für Fotografie in Berlin, from which he graduated in 2018. His work has been published by various German and international media outlets and exhibited at the Willy-Brandt-Haus in Berlin, at the Triennial of Photography 2018 in Hamburg and at the Fotogalerie Friedrichshain in Berlin, among others. Besides editorial and commercial work, he focuses on long-term documentary projects, often playing with the border between realism and surrealism. He lives and works in Berlin.

Stadtschreiber

Verschiedene

NBR Instagram

Stadtschreiber – Berlin in Bildern: Fotografinnen und Fotografen teilen ihren ganz persönlichen Blick auf Berlin auf dem Instagram-Kanal von NBR.

Ein Stadtschreiber erzählt die Stadt, kommentiert ihr Geschehen und hält es für die Nachwelt fest. Neue Berliner Räume greift diese Idee auf und präsentiert ab sofort das neue Langzeitprojekt Stadtschreiber auf Instagram. Für jeweils drei Monate zeigen Fotografinnen und Fotografen hier in Zukunft ihren ganz persönlichen Blick auf Berlin, seine Orte, Geschichten und Menschen. Folge den Stadtschreibern hier.

 

Stadtschreiber No 2
Matias Sauter
Juli bis Oktober 2019

Was würdest Du mitnehmen, wenn Du Berlin verlassen würdest? Während seiner Zeit als Stadtschreiber sammelt Matias Bilder von Menschen und Momenten seines Lebens in Berlin.

 

Matias Sauter Morera wurde 1986 in San José, Costa Rica geboren. Nach dem Abschluss seines Studiums der Fotografie 2010, unterrichtete er an der Veritas Universität in San José und assistierte bei einem Landschaftsfotografie-Projekt des Musée du quai Branly in Argentinien. Seine Fotografien wurden insbesondere in Lateinamerika in verschiedenen Galerien und Festivals gezeigt, u.a. der Despacio Gallery, dem GuatePhoto Festival in Guatemala und in der Veinti4/Siete Gallery in San José 2018. In Berlin arbeitet er als Fotograf im kommerziellen und redaktionellen Bereich. Er ist auf Dokumentarfotografie, Porträts und Modefotografie spezialisiert und hat für renommierte Marken und Publikationen wie Condé Nast Traveller, Vogue, Cosmopolitan und Stern fotografiert. Aufgrund seines nomadischen Lebensstils konzentriert sich seine Arbeit auf die Erforschung verschiedener Vorstellungen von Identität. Matias nutzt die Fotografie, um Realitäten zu konfrontieren und neue Vorstellungswelten zu schaffen. Derzeit pendelt er zwischen Berlin und Costa Rica, wo er sich mit der fotografischen Erforschung der natürlichen Umgebung seiner Kindheit beschäftigt – der tropischen Natur.

 

Stadtschreiber No 1
Miguel Brusch
April bis Juli 2019

Von Marienfelde bis Lübars, von Zehlendorf bis Marzahn – Miguel Brusch macht für den Stadtschreiber Bilder von den Rändern Berlins.

 

Miguel Brusch wurde 1983 geboren. Nach seinem Abschluss in Südasien- und Medienwissenschaften an der Universität Hamburg studierte er von 2015 bis 2018 an der Ostkreuzschule für Fotografie in Berlin. Seine Arbeiten wurden in zahlreichen deutschen und internationalen Medien veröffentlicht und u.a. bei der Triennale der Photographie 2018 in Hamburg, im Willy-Brandt-Haus in Berlin und in der Fotogalerie Friedrichshain in Berlin ausgestellt. Neben redaktionellen und kommerziellen Auftragsarbeiten konzentriert er sich auf dokumentarische Langzeitprojekte, die häufig mit der Grenze zwischen Realismus und Surrealismus spielen. Er lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.